Job searchPersonnel search

Soft skills that today's employees need

The world of work is in a state of flux. The pandemic and ongoing digitalization has also taken a firm grip on our working lives and is bringing a breath of fresh air. Soft skills are becoming increasingly important and are almost more important than hard skills. But what are the qualities that really matter in this day and age?

What are soft skills?

Unlike hard skills (technical abilities), soft skills are not so easy to determine. Because these go into your personality and (interpersonal) behavior. So they are the cognitive skills, behavioral skills and emotional intelligence is also part of it. Unlike hard skills, we learn soft skills through life experience and not through training.

Why are soft skills important in working life?

Companies usually receive many applications for the open positions. The applicants often have the same skills that are needed for the job. In order to find the right employee, soft skills come to the fore. After all, the interaction is just as important as the work itself. It is therefore important to convince with personality.

According to Oxbridge Academy, soft skills are more important than ever for these 5 reasons:

  1. Hard skills are useless without soft skills. In the majority of jobs, knowledge alone is often not enough - interpersonal skills matter.
  2. Soft skills are more difficult to learn. Learning new skills is more challenging because it is directly linked to the character.
  3. The modern workplace is interpersonal. Qualities such as listening, team spirit and strong communication skills make for a productive, collaborative and healthy work environment.
  4. Customers demand soft skills. A company's customer service is one of the main reasons customers make decisions.
  5. The workplace of the future will rely on soft skills. Artificial intelligence can take away many jobs that require hard skills. This does not work for soft skills. That is precisely why they are becoming an essential feature.

The most important soft skills

In the next sections, we'll introduce you to the top 10 soft skills that are so important to our working world.

Think outside the Box

Innovations move us forward. But for that, you would have to dare to look for creative solutions, to try out new things and not take the standard route from A to B. Because the existing solutions are not necessarily the best ones.

Critical thinking

Critical thinking helps you to question things and leave your comfort zone. These are the foundations for you to develop and grow.

Self-employment

With an independent way of working, you simply always score points. Employees who complete their tasks independently and contribute proactively are an asset to any company. Because your superiors don't always have to look over your shoulder, but can rely on you. This makes their working day much easier.

Communication Skills

How do you communicate with customers, work colleagues and superiors? Especially in the age of digitalization, communication skills are more important than ever. Because nowadays, the majority of all agreements take place online - via e-mails, chats, video and telephone conferences. As an employee, you need to be able to get your point across in this way as well. No matter what industry or job you work in, communication skills are among the most important skills everywhere. This starts with your application.

Time management and productivity

Especially in the home office, time management is an essential skill, as the natural structure of the regular workday is lost. As an employee, you should know how to structure, prioritize and efficiently complete your tasks in order to deliver projects on time. Time management is a skill you can easily learn on your own. Use to-do lists, calendars, and goal setting.

Emotional intelligence

We are all familiar with the term IQ, but can you also correctly classify EQ? EQ, or emotional quotient, is the ability to perceive, interpret, and respond to emotions - both your own and those of others. Empathy is not only important in your private life, but also helps you in interpersonal relationships at work.

Ability to work in a team

Companies act as one big team in which every single employee plays a role. In order for this to work, the ability to work in a team is a prerequisite. Time and again, you will encounter projects and assignments that you are expected to master together with your work colleagues. Even if the cooperation does not always run smoothly, it promotes overall efficiency. That's why teamwork - learning together, respecting and accepting each other - is an indispensable skill that must cut across all levels of business.

Cooperative action and conflict management

Disagreements can always arise. The main thing is that you resolve them effectively. The necessary skill in conflict management is a prerequisite for this. In conflict situations, be sure to remain calm, reasonable and leave your emotions out of it. This is the only way to resolve problems objectively.

Assertiveness

Assertiveness is particularly required of managers. Because if you don't manage to assert yourself, you often lose out. In the worst case, you will be taken advantage of, not respected or not taken seriously. In addition, your assertiveness helps you when it comes to achieving goals or completing projects. Like all other skills, assertiveness is something that can be learned.

Loyalty

Employers want loyal employees. On the one hand, they provide positive publicity among acquaintances. On the other hand, they feel close to the company and work longer for a company. If you can identify with the values and goals of the company and feel loyalty, this has a positive effect on your performance.

Flexibility and dynamics

The importance of flexibility in the workplace has been made clear to us once again by the past year and by digitization. Rigid work structures cannot survive for long in today's world, just like the popular "garden-variety" thinking. Job sharing, home office and teamwork in general will get you to your goal faster.

Closing words

Do you possess some of these soft skills and are you interested in new challenges? Then take your career one step further and get in touch with us. As headhunter specialists in the fields of construction and real estate, engineering and manufacturing, and digitalization, we can help you find your dream job.

About
Onyx Circle

Onyx Circle AG is a recruitment and headhunting boutique based in Zurich. With our guiding principle "We make careers personal", we have been working in the DACH region since 2019 not only to discover the personalities and talents behind the CVs in our specialist areas, but also to ensure and develop tailor-made support and solutions for our clients through individual support. With our dedicated team of currently 12 employees, we are characterized in particular by our high level of specialization in the specialist areas of Construction & Real Estate, Engineering & Manufacturing, Finance & Controlling, HR & Administration and SAP & IT.

Blog

Keep up to date with the latest news

Soft Skills, die Arbeitnehmende heutzutage benötigen

Die Arbeitswelt befindet sich im Wandel. Die Pandemie und weiter schreitende Digitalisierung hat auch unser Arbeitsleben im festen Griff und sorgt für frischen Wind. So gewinnen Soft Skills, oder auch weiche Fähigkeiten genannt, zunehmend an Bedeutung und sind fast schon wichtiger als Hard Skills. Doch auf welche Eigenschaften kommt es in unserer heutigen Zeit überhaupt an?

Was sind Soft Skills?

Anders als Hard Skills (technische Fähigkeiten) lassen sich Soft Skills nicht so leicht feststellen. Denn diese gehen auf Ihre Persönlichkeit und Ihr (zwischenmenschliches) Verhalten ein. Es sind also die kognitiven Fähigkeiten, Verhaltensweisen und auch die emotionale Intelligenz gehört dazu. Im Gegensatz zu den Hard Skills lernen wir die weichen Fähigkeiten durch Lebenserfahrung und nicht durch Ausbildungen.

Warum sind Soft Skills im Arbeitsleben wichtig?

Unternehmen erhalten in der Regel viele Bewerbungen auf die offenen Stellen. Die Bewerbenden verfügen oftmals über die gleichen Fähigkeiten, die für den Job auch benötigt werden. Um nun den richtigen Mitarbeitenden zu finden, rücken die Soft Skills in den Vordergrund. Schliesslich ist das Miteinander ebenso wichtig wie die geleistete Arbeit selbst. Es gilt also mit Persönlichkeit zu überzeugen.

Laut der Oxbridge Academy sind Soft Skills aus diesen 5 Gründen wichtiger denn je:

  1. Ohne Soft Skills sind Hard Skills nutzlos. Bei der Mehrheit der Jobs reicht Wissen allein oft nicht aus – auf die zwischenmenschlichen Fähigkeiten kommt es an.
  2. Soft Skills sind schwieriger zu erlernen. Das Erlernen neuer Fähigkeiten ist anspruchsvoller, da es direkt mit dem Charakter verbunden ist.
  3. Der moderne Arbeitsplatz ist zwischenmenschlich. Eigenschaften wie Zuhören, Teamgeist und Kommunikationsstärke sorgen für ein produktives, kollaboratives und gesundes Arbeitsumfeld.
  4. Kunden verlangen Soft Skills. Der Kundenservice eines Unternehmens ist mit einer der Hauptentscheidungsgründe von Kunden.
  5. Der Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft wird auf Soft Skills angewiesen sein. Die künstliche Intelligenz kann uns viele Arbeiten abnehmen, die Hard Skills erfordern. Bei den Soft Skills funktioniert dies nicht. Genau deswegen werden diese zu einem essenziellen Merkmal.

Die wichtigsten Soft Skills

In den nächsten Abschnitten stellen wir Ihnen die Top 10 Soft Skills vor, die für unsere Arbeitswelt so wichtig sind.

Think outside the Box

Innovationen bringen uns voran. Doch dafür müssten Sie sich getrauen, kreative Lösungen zu suchen, Neues auszuprobieren und nicht den Standardweg von A nach B gehen. Denn die bestehenden Lösungen sind nicht gezwungenermassen auch die Besten.

Kritisches Denken

Kritisches Denken hilft Ihnen, Dinge zu hinterfragen und Ihre Komfortzone zu verlassen. Dies sind die Grundlagen, damit Sie sich weiterentwickeln und wachsen können.

Selbstständigkeit

Mit einer selbstständigen Arbeitsweise punkten Sie einfach immer. Mitarbeitende, die selbstständig Ihre Aufgaben erledigen und sich proaktiv einbringen, stellen für jedes Unternehmen einen Gewinn dar. Denn Ihre Vorgesetzten müssen Ihnen nicht immer über die Schulter schauen, sondern können sich auf Sie verlassen. Dies erleichtert deren Arbeitstag ungemein.

Kommunikationsfähigkeiten

Wie kommunizieren Sie mit Kunden, Arbeitskollegen und Vorgesetzten? Gerade im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung ist die Kommunikationsfähigkeit wichtiger denn je. Denn heutzutage findet die Mehrheit aller Absprachen online – über Mails, Chats, Video- und Telefonkonferenzen – statt. Als Arbeitnehmender müssen Sie auch auf diese Art Ihren Standpunkt vermitteln können. Egal in welcher Branche oder Job Sie arbeiten, Kommunikations-Skills gehören überall zu den wichtigsten Fähigkeiten. Dies startet schon bei Ihrer Bewerbung.

Zeitmanagement und Produktivität

Besonders im Home-Office ist Zeitmanagement ein essenzieller Skill, da die natürliche Struktur des geregelten Arbeitstages verloren geht. Als Arbeitnehmer sollten Sie wissen, wie Sie Ihre Aufgaben strukturieren, priorisieren und effizient abarbeiten, um Projekte pünktlich abzugeben. Zeitmanagement ist eine Fähigkeit, die Sie sich problemlos selbst aneignen können. Nutzen Sie To-Do-Listen, Kalender und Zielsetzungen.

Emotionale Intelligenz

Wir kennen alle den Begriff IQ, doch können Sie auch den EQ richtig einordnen? Der EQ, also der emotionale Quotient, ist die Fähigkeit Emotionen wahrzunehmen, diese zu interpretieren und darauf zu reagieren – auf Ihre eigenen, wie auch die Emotionen der anderen. Empathie ist nicht nur im Privatleben wichtig, sondern hilft Ihnen auch bei den zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen am Arbeitsplatz.

Teamfähigkeit

Unternehmen agieren als ein grosses Team, in dem jeder einzelne Mitarbeitende eine Rolle spielt. Damit dies funktioniert, wird Teamfähigkeit vorausgesetzt. Immer wieder werden Ihnen Projekte und Aufträge begegnen, die Sie mit Ihren Arbeitskollegen zusammen meistern sollen. Auch wenn die Zusammenarbeit nicht immer reibungslos verläuft, fördert es die Gesamteffizienz. Deswegen ist die Teamfähigkeit, also zusammen lernen, sich respektieren und akzeptieren, ein unabdingbarer Skill, der über alle Geschäftsebenen reichen muss.

Kooperatives Handeln und Konfliktmanagement

Meinungsverschiedenheiten können immer entstehen. Die Hauptsache ist, dass Sie diese effektiv lösen. Dafür ist das nötige Geschick im Konfliktmanagement die Voraussetzung. Bleiben Sie in Konfliktsituationen auf jeden Fall ruhig, vernünftig und lassen Sie Ihre Emotionen aus dem Spiel. Nur so können Sie Probleme sachlich aus der Welt schaffen.

Durchsetzungsvermögen

Durchsetzungsvermögen wird besonders von Führungskräften gefordert. Denn wer es nicht schafft sich durchzusetzen, hat oft das Nachsehen. Im schlimmsten Fall werden Sie ausgenutzt, nicht respektiert oder nicht ernst genommen. Zusätzlich hilft Ihnen Ihr Durchsetzungsvermögen, wenn es darum geht, Ziele zu erreichen oder Vorhaben zu Ende zu bringen. So wie alle anderen Skills ist auch die Durchsetzungskraft etwas, das sich erlernen lässt.

Loyalität

Arbeitgeber wünschen sich loyale Mitarbeitende. Denn einerseits sorgen diese für positive Werbung im Bekanntenkreis. Auf der anderen Seite fühlen diese sich dem Unternehmen nahe und arbeiten länger für eine Firma. Wenn Sie sich mit den Werten und Zielen des Unternehmens identifizieren können und Loyalität verspüren, wirkt sich dies positiv auf Ihre Leistung aus.

Flexibilität und Dynamik

Wie wichtig Flexibilität am Arbeitsplatz ist, hat uns das letzte Jahr so wie die Digitalisierung noch einmal klargemacht. Starre Arbeitsstrukturen können in der heutigen Zeit nicht lange überleben, genauso wenig wie das beliebte „Gärtchen-Denken“. Jobsharing, Home-Office und generell Teamarbeit führen Sie schneller ans Ziel.

Schlusswort

Besitzen Sie einige dieser Soft Skills und sind Sie an neuen Herausforderungen interessiert? Dann bringen Sie Ihre berufliche Laufbahn einen Schritt weiter und nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf. Als Headhunter-Spezialisten der Bereiche Bau- und Immobilienwesen, Ingenieurwesen und Fertigung sowie Digitalisierung, helfen wir Ihnen, Ihren Traumjob zu finden.